Love & The Country #25 – Let Your Light Shine

Sometimes we don’t realize how other people are viewing us until they point it out, and sometimes we’re being admired, and don’t even realize it!

admiration

About a month after my mother died a lady I went to school with reached out to me. She told me that she felt so bad for not coming to my mom’s memorial service. I explained to her that I didn’t expect for her to come. It was during the holidays and we knew everyone wouldn’t be able to drop their holiday plans to be there. She went on to say that wasn’t the reason. She told me that she had considered me a good friend when we were growing up, and she wanted to come to support me, but she said she couldn’t bring herself to do it because no matter what life threw my way, I always managed to laugh and smile. She recalled the time I broke my wrist, when my grandmother died, and when my brother moved away. She said she admired me for that, and she couldn’t bare to see me so terribly sad that I couldn’t laugh or smile.

I remember sitting on my couch reading those words over and over and over again. I had no idea that she admired those traits in me. I hadn’t even realized that she was paying that close of attention to be honest. It brought tears to my eyes and I just wanted to reach through my computer screen and hug her.

hug

A colleague of mine and I had a heart to heart recently, we both gained a better understanding of each other, and came out with more respect for the other than we’ve ever had.

We were discussing how people tend to gravitate towards our department and she made the comment that she”ll often come out of her office and there will be someone sitting in front of my desk, pouring their heart out. I told her that it’s been that way my whole life. People have always felt comfortable talking to me and I’m not sure why. She told me that it’s because people can tell I genuinely care and that I listen with intent. Once again, I was a little baffled that someone had observed something so personal about me, but I also don’t think it’s that rare of a trait, she assured me that it is.

Both of these conversations made me realize that we often don’t realize who is watching us, who is really paying attention and noticing our personality traits. It makes me happy that I have chosen love and kindness over hatred and anger when life has treated me unkind. It makes me strive to be a better person, because I don’t always know who is watching, and who needs to see that there is still good in the world, there are people who care.

I encourage all of you to let your lights shine, I encourage all of you to acknowledge when you see the light in others, and tell them that you see it. Sometimes I feel like I have lost my light, or I put in so much hard work and effort and nobody notices, but the truth is they do. They really, really do!

Love & life lessons,

Kristian

This entry was posted in Lessons, Themes, This Is Me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Love & The Country #25 – Let Your Light Shine

  1. Sadje says:

    A beautiful post. Love the message at the end.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Eclectic Contrarian says:

    Your heart is a strength of your’s.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hilary Tan says:

    “It makes me happy that I have chosen love and kindness over hatred and anger when life has treated me unkind. It makes me strive to be a better person, because I don’t always know who is watching, and who needs to see that there is still good in the world, there are people who care. ”
    All I can say is, WOW. These words are so powerful. I have held onto anger and hatred way too long. Life has treated me unfairly as well, and I am slowly beginning to realize that unfairness is how life works, even though I desperately wish it wasn’t this way.

    Liked by 1 person

    • kristianw84 says:

      Thank you! It’s hard to let go of anger sometimes. You’re right, life isn’t fair, and it sucks. I am not Buddhist, but I do love their practice. They say in order to achieve “zen,” one must accept pain. Once you understand that pain is essential, pain is a way if life, you learn to accept it. It makes the good times that much more enjoyable. It’s easier to let things go. I also remind myself that while it’s not an excuse, people who bully & are mean for no reason have miserable lives. They are so unhappy that the only way they feel happiness is to bring others down. It’s just sad. I don’t let them walk all over me, I still hold my ground, but it’s easier for me to be nice to them. Maybe I’m the only nice person they’ll encounter all day! I just don’t know. Anyway, I hope you find your zen. I’m right there with you though, I wish life treated all of us more kindly.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hilary Tan says:

        “Keep your friends close and your enemies closer.” -unknown

        Story Time: Today I actually had to block someone who lives halfway across the world on WhatsApp (for a second time in 3+ years, this guy doesn’t give up). Gave this person plenty of warnings but some people never learn to take a hint. He wasn’t a bully or anything but kept trying to make inappropriate advancements and this has been going on for a long time. Today I had enough after he accidentally sent me a sext message that was meant for someone else so he deleted it (so pathetic), even though I had already read it. It showed me his true, perverted, personality in every way, shape and form, which really disgusted me. It’s sad how desperate men can be but hopefully he learns a valuable lesson since clearly, he didn’t learn anything from me.

        It is very good to be firm about your values and stand your ground, because if you don’t stand up for yourself, someone else is going to walk all over your turf. I am not Buddhist either but I love their concept of life. The paradoxical thing is that its pain and boredom that will bring us closer to inner peace and satisfaction. Yet I still struggle with jealousy, anger, anxiety, and depression…. my monkey mind still runs wild. *sigh*

        Liked by 1 person

      • kristianw84 says:

        Oh, I’m sorry you had to go through that. There are some great men in this world, but unfortunately, there’s a lot of jerks, perverts, & creeps out there too, & they seem to be the ones who are the loudest, so they’re the ones most seen & heard! Ugh!!

        You’re human, dear. We all have our struggles.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hilary Tan says:

        Yes, I totally agree with you. The most obnoxious are certainly the loudest, and being loud isn’t necessarily a good thing. Some of the nicest, most sincere guys don’t fling themselves at every female who gives them the time of day.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Nathan AM Smith says:

    Awwww this is so beautiful 🙂 Thank you for sharing this. I so heard your heart in this 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment