The Writing World Tag

rediscovering-life

Photo Credit: Rediscovering Life

Laura Beth tagged me to do another fun tag! Thanks, Laura Beth!

Here’s the link to the original post, by the creator of this tag:

The Writing World Tag, Created By Me!


The Rules

  • Thank the person that tagged you and link to their website
  • Post the rules
  • Answer your tagger’s questions
  • Share your two favorite writing tips and where you got them from
  • Share two random story/WIP ideas you’ve never shared before (It would be cool to include covers, but you don’t have to) (And also they don’t have to be ideas you’re ever going to turn into anything)
  • But don’t spoil them for us 😉
  • Tag five people
  • Let the people you tag know that they have been tagged
  • Ask five questions
  • No, you can’t re-tag the person that tagged you

Questions I Was Asked

  1. Do you journal?
  2. Have you ever published anything?
  3. If you have been published, how did you go about that?
  4. How long have you been blogging?
  5. What are you currently working on? No spoilers!

My Answers

  1. I do! I have many, such as: a Christmas journal my mom bought me years ago, where I log my favorite memories and gifts each Christmas. Neil’s grandma bought me a self-discovery journal last Christmas, and I’ve been filling it out in my spare time. A former coworker advised me to keep a dream journal after I had been battling some very terrifying nightmares. He mentioned that writing them down may help me take control of them, and to my surprise, it worked! The nightmares that used to happen almost on a nightly basis are now very far and few between. I haven’t been writing it in as much lately, though. I really need to get back to that. I also keep a journal in my purse, in my desk at work, and one at home, I fill them with random thoughts, conversations, and events that I’ve experienced or observed.
  2. I have! I have published 2 poems in the National Poets Society book. I must admit, I didn’t personally submit them, my creative writing teacher in high school did. I was 17-years-old. One of the poems I wrote was for 9/11, and the other was about the birth of Christ. Both poems were accepted and published, my teacher gave me the award letter and a certificate she made me, as most creative writer that year! I still cherish both, dearly!
  3. Oops, I kind of already answered this in question 2. I’m not sure how she went about it, I believe it was submitted through email to the National Poets Society.
  4. I have been blogging for 3 years. I started in 2015 when I knew my mom wasn’t going to be with me much longer, it was a great way for me to write about my feelings and get them out on paper. Writing is very cathartic for me, it’s like therapy, I always feel better after writing down my thoughts and emotions. If you look back at my blog posts from then, you will find most of them are sad, more so than the ones I’ve posted recently.
  5. I have many projects started, but I have really been devoting time to my romance novel. I wanted to do something different, so I focused my attention on horror and sci-fi, which I still hope to write one day, but when I was explaining this to Neil’s grandmother she told me that I should go for romance, because I’m such a romantic, and she told me I should own that, not be ashamed of it. I was worried because there are so many romance novels out there, it’s hard to be original, and she pointed out that was true for most genres, and even though there are a lot of romance novels and stories out there, none of them have been told from my point of view. After giving it a lot of consideration, I decided that she was right, and I have recently been inspired. I am putting my own twist on this romance novel, it’s not quite like anything I’ve read before, and I’m really excited for it!

Writing Tips

  1. “In order to be a great writer you must do two things: write a lot, and read a lot. If you don’t have time to read, you do not have the time or the tools it takes to write, it’s as simple as that.” – Stephen King
  2. “Learn to trust your own judgement.” – Doris Lessing

Random Story / WIP Ideas

  1. “Kingsland: Dark Matter” –  Maggie Bateman, a highly intelligent Marketing Sales Director of King’s comics finds herself in an alternate universe where the superheroes created by her boss, Victor King actually exist. What Maggie doesn’t know is that the affects of the war, initiated by Kings arch nemesis, Dark Matter is affecting the human race and our universe. Will Maggie, a mere mortal, find a way to help Victor and his Superheroes save the world?
  2. “In His Eyes” – A young woman living in the Appalachian Mountains of Western Maryland decides to leave her hometown and her past behind and moves across the county to the city by the bay, where she meets a San Francisco native and falls in love. Soon she finds herself spun in a web of lies and confusion, and she doesn’t seem to know where her dreams end and reality begins.

My Questions

  1. If you could tell your younger writing self anything, what would it be?
  2. What was an early experience where you learned that language has power?
  3. What period of your life do you find you write about most often? (Childhood, adolescence, adult hood, young & golden years)
  4. What is the most difficult part of writing for you?
  5. What inspired you to start your blog?

Tag – You’re It!

  1. B.W. Ginsburg
  2. A Girl That Blah
  3. Carolyn – This will all make sense some day
  4. clg71961

I am looking forward to your answers!

Love & life lessons,

Kristian

This entry was posted in Awards/Tags and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Writing World Tag

  1. Laura Beth says:

    Great answers! I love the quote you chose from Stephen King!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: The Writing World Tag – Lolsys Library

Leave a comment