Let’s Have A Parade!!!- These are a Few of my Favorite Things #2

As far back as I can remember I have watched the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade every year!! It’s more about the tradition of it for me than it is the actual parade, but I absolutely love it!!! It’s the official kick off to the holiday season, and this year Macy’s celebrates their 90th parade!! Since I can remember the parade always starts off with Frank Sinatra’s “New York New York” I love that some things never change!!

Here are some of the things I am looking forward to seeing in this year’s parade:

Balloons:

  • TROLLS

    DREAMWORKS ANIMATION

    Poppy, Branch and Guy Diamond from the animated film Trolls have hitched a ride on the Caterbus to fly down the Parade route in larger-than-life fashion!

     

  • CHARLIE BROWN

    PEANUTS WORLDWIDE

    Good grief, indeed! Charlie Brown takes center stage during his debut flight this Thanksgiving!

     

     

  • HELLO KITTY

    SANRIO INC.

    Say hello to the sweetest girl in town! Topped off with her signature red bow, Hello Kitty has been taking to the skies since 2007.

    Floats:

  • TOM TURKEY

    MACY’S

    Decked in autumnal hues, Tom Turkey will march down the parade route, He also has been a part of the parade for as long as I can remember!!! Don’t you just love traditions?!!

     

  • HEARTWARMING HOLIDAY COUNTDOWN

    HALLMARK CHANNEL

    The 3D calendar on this three-story float will help kick off the holiday season with its showcase of merry scenes behind each date.

     

  • SNOOPY’S DOGHOUSE

    PEANUTS WORLDWIDE

    The iconic animated special A Charlie Brown Christmas comes to life on this float packed with gifts, a mailbox full of holiday wishes, Charlie Brown’s beloved tree and a decorated doghouse.I can’t even begin to tell you how much I love this!!!

     

  • TEENAGE MUTANT NINJA TURTLES

    NICKELODEON

    I am a big fan of TMNT. Not so much the new animated cartoon, but I love the old ones, and the movies!!

     

  • IT’S ALL ROCK & ROLL

    GIBSON BRANDS®

    Featuring the biggest Gibson Les Paul guitar in history as its centerpiece (33 feet long and 21 feet tall), How cool is this?!

     

  • 1-2-3 SESAME STREET FLOAT

    SESAME WORKSHOP

    On the stoop of 1-2-3 SESAME STREET, fans of all ages will meet their favorite furry friends as they celebrate the holiday season! Sesame Street always has a cute float with some fun performers and kids!

    Performers:

     

  • BRETT ELDREDGE

  • ALOE BLACC

  • THE MUPPETS

  • The Radio City Rockettes

    Image result for the rockettes

They have also been a part of the parade for as far back as I can remember. I always enjoy watching them!

Marching Bands:

  • “THE PRIDE OF WEST VIRGINIA” – THE MOUNTAINEER MARCHING BAND

    MORGANTOWN, WEST VIRGINIA

    Woohooo!!!!! I live only an hour away from Morgantown and I love WVU football, and being a marching band geek myself, the bands are my favorite part of the parade! I am unbelievably excited for the WVU marching band! What an honor!!!

  • NYPD MARCHING BAND

    NEW YORK, NY

Representing the finest NYC has to offer, this band is always a crowd favorite! (I support our brothers and sisters in blue!)

 

Even though this next one is a float. I have to stick with tradition and end my blog post the same way the parade always ends, WITH THE JOLLY MAN IN THE RED SUIT!!!!

  • SANTA’S SLEIGH

    MACY’S

    I love this Santa! He’s vintage, he has the best suit, and he is always with his beloved Mrs. Claus. The Believe balloons surround him, and there’s just something that is so charming about it! Maybe it’s that it signifies that the holidays are officially here, maybe it’s that Christmas magic that brings out the child in each of us, or maybe, just maybe, it’s because he is the real Santa! 😉

    Happy Thanksgiving to you & yours,

    Kristian

    *Images & Descriptions are from http://social.macys.com/parade/2016 Except for the Rockettes, which were found on Google Images.

     

This entry was posted in Favorites, Recommendations (Pop Culture, Travel, Life) and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Let’s Have A Parade!!!- These are a Few of my Favorite Things #2

  1. Laura Beth says:

    This is one of the biggest memories for me. I love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My 9-yr-old enjoyed Snoopy & gang esp. =)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. maureenrose7 says:

    I missed it and so thank you for this! So fun! XO!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment