Fan Fiction: Chapter One

Hello, dear readers,

I have once again received more requests for Sherlock. So, I have decided to not do writing prompts with this, and just write what comes to me. I am going to make fan fiction a separate category in my blog, so even though this is the 4th Sherlock Segment, this will be the first chapter in the category. (I hope that makes sense) Anyway, I really hope you guys enjoy reading these. I have so much fun writing them. This came to me last night!

The Mysterious Case of the Appalachian Woman

“NO! Why did it have to be Dean?” I yelled as I threw myself onto the sofa & clutched the throw pillow to my chest.

Sherlock ran out of his room and skidded to a halt just past the dining room table. “Kristin, what’s the matter?”

I looked up at him and sniffed as the mascara stained tears ran down my cheeks.

“Oh, love. Whose ass am I beating?” Sherlock asked.

I chuckled and shook my head as I wiped the tears from my face. “Dean’s dead.” I said as I pointed to the television.

Sherlock rolled his eyes. “You scared the crap out of me; I thought something was seriously wrong.”

“It is. Didn’t you hear me? Dean died!”

“How many times does this make?” Sherlock asked as he rolled his eyes at me once again.

I chuckled. “I have an unhealthy habit of becoming emotionally attached to fictional characters.”

“You don’t say?” He replied, sardonically.

“Shut up!” I giggled as I threw the pillow I was holding at him.

He caught the pillow and started laughing as he crossed the living room to join me on the sofa.

“Dean was my hero, now who will protect me from the monsters?” I asked.

“I’m no hero, but I will protect you from anyone who tries to cause you harm.”

“Oh, Sherlock” I sighed contentedly, as I laid my head on his shoulder.

Sherlock stiffened as he still wasn’t used to physical contact, but unbeknownst to me, the smile on his face gave him away.

The next morning I awoke to a loud crash in the kitchen. I ran out of my room in just my tank top and shorts, too startled to even put on my robe to cover myself. I couldn’t help but laugh at the site in front of me. There sitting on my kitchen floor was the curly haired detective, with flour in his hair, smoke coming from the toaster oven, burnt eggs in the skillet, and waffle batter all over my floor, along with the bowl and the mixer. I tried to stifle my laughter by putting my hand over my mouth, but it didn’t work.

Sherlock glared at me. “I’m glad you find this so amusing.”

“I’m sorry… it’s just…” I said as I doubled over with my hands on my knees trying to catch my breath. Sherlock tried to stand up but his feet kept slipping in the batter, and it only made me laugh harder. I finally composed myself and walked over to him. “Here let me help you.” I walked over and grabbed his arm, but Sherlock pulled me towards him and smeared batter on my face. “Sherlock!” I squealed as I grabbed a handful of flour and threw it at him forgetting about the batter on the floor. Sherlock laughed a deep, hearty laugh and I couldn’t help but laugh along with him, I started to slip in the forgotten batter on the floor, but Sherlock caught me and held me tightly against him as he held onto the counter with his other hand for support. Sherlock and I held each other’s gaze for a long moment before he cleared his throat at our close proximity and let me go. He rubbed the back of his neck as his gaze roamed up and down my body and I blushed as I realized I was showing more skin than I normally do.

“You’re the smartest man I know, and you can’t even make toast.” I said, breaking the ice.

Sherlock chuckled at this as he bent down to pick up the bowl and mixer off the floor. “You go get cleaned up, and I’ll clean up in here.” Sherlock said as he placed the bowl in the sink.

“Actually, why don’t you let me get it, and I’ll make breakfast for you.” I replied.

Sherlock smiled at me. “I don’t eat breakfast.” He sighed, “I was making this for you, Kristin. April told me how much you love waffles, and I was going to surprise you with them, but my cooking skills aren’t as good as I hoped they’d be.”

I wasn’t sure how to respond. This man who claims to have no clue when it comes to human interaction, especially with the opposite sex, is trying to surprise me by making my favorite breakfast, and I can’t do anything but stare at the back of his head as he cleans my kitchen.

I walked beside him and put my hand on his arm. “Thank you.” I said softly.

He looked at me confused. “For?”

“It’s the thought that counts Sherlock.” I said as I turned and made my way to my bedroom.

While Sherlock was in the shower I decided to call my sister, Laura Beth, as it had been a couple of weeks since I last spoke with her.

“Good morning, Kristin!” She greeted me.

“Good morning Laura Beth.”

“I’m so excited that you called, I was actually getting ready to call you. How are things going with Sherlock?”

I chuckled as I thought about the events of earlier. “Well, he asked me if I would join him on his cases, and I accepted. I still work at my office, but I made April partner, and we both work part time. I don’t know why I didn’t think of that sooner.”

I was sitting on the sofa with my feet propped up on the coffee table, I took a sip of coffee and almost chocked on it when Sherlock walked out into the living room wearing a towel. His torso was more toned than I thought it would be, and I found myself staring at the vein running along his biceps. Sherlock winked at me as he caught me staring and I cursed myself again for allowing him to catch me.

“Hello. Are you still there?” Laura Beth asked.

“Yes, sorry, sorry, I’m here.” I said flustered.

Sherlock laughed as he made his way into his room.

Laura Beth and I chatted for a few more minutes, while Sherlock made himself some tea, grabbed the newspaper, and joined me in the living room.

“Would you be interested in coming back home, and bringing Sherlock with you?” Laura Beth asked me.

“Why would I do that?”

“Oh, I don’t know, to see your sister, perhaps?”

I chuckled. “No, I mean, why would you want me to bring Sherlock?”

He looked up at me at the mention of his name, and I looked down at the floor, avoiding his gaze.

“I have a case for you both.”

“A case?!” I asked, excitedly.

“Yes, I was hiking along Swallow falls and I found a charred woman lying naked by Muddy Creek.”

“Laura Beth,” I interrupted her. “Sherlock is sitting in the living room with me. I’m going to put you on speaker, okay?”

I introduced the two.

“Do you mind telling me what you’ve told Kristin?” Sherlock asked.

“I told Kristin that I went for a hike near the falls I live by and I found the body of a charred, naked woman lying next to the falls, but that’s not all,” she continued. “Surrounding her were a dozen pink sleeping pills, an open bottle of whiskey, and two empty kerosene containers. There was a nasty bruise on what remained of her neck.”

“When did you find her body?” Sherlock asked.

“Just this morning, and I called the police, and they have started investigating. I overheard one of them say that they would like to get Sherlock Holmes involved, and I told them that my sister knew him and if they were serious I would make the call. Well, they were serious, so if you would like to make the trip to Kristin’s hometown I will put you in touch with Sheriff Friend.”

Sherlock smiled the biggest smile I have ever seen him wear and replied “I looking forward to meeting you, Laura Beth.”

Note:  I do not own Sherlock Holmes, all Sherlock related content is based off the works of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. I claim all other content as my own personal work. Any & all rights belong solely to Kristian L. Cosner Weigman

 

This entry was posted in Fan Fiction, Ficton and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fan Fiction: Chapter One

  1. Laura Beth says:

    Eeeeek! I’m so excited! Thanks for writing me into the story. That was such a pleasant surprise. You’re the best!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Pingback: Fan Fiction Chapter 2 | Life Lessons From Around the Dinner Table

Leave a Reply

