Short Story, Fiction #5

This one isn’t from a prompt, just something I had floating through my head. I hope you enjoy this one!!

Love by the Coast

I poured the last of the Cabernet Sauvignon into my wine glass as I watched the waves crash onto the rocky shore just below the deck I was standing on, and I leaned on the rail and inhaled the fresh scent of the salt water from the Atlantic. All I could see was ocean and sky for miles and I smiled as the crisp October air chilled my bones. I pulled my sweater tighter around me and sat in the Adirondack chair reveling in the glorious view before me while I waited for my best friend, Melissa to join me.

“I’m so glad you talked me into coming to Maine with you,” Melissa said as she opened the sliding glass door of the log cabin and stepped out onto the back deck. “It’s so pretty here, and a getaway was just what I needed.”

I hummed in agreement and raised my glass to her. “There’s more wine in the kitchen if you would like a glass.”

“Okay I’ll just bring out the bottle, and then I want to know everything!” Melissa squealed in delight as she ran back into the cabin to retrieve the wine. She emerged just seconds later. “Alright, Lori, start talking, and don’t leave anything out!

“Alright, I’ll start from the very beginning after you and Adam left to go biking yesterday morning…”

I decided to walk to that little cafe about a mile up the road. It was a quaint little place, and it reminded me of something one would see in Italy. The sidewalks were made of cobblestone and the aroma of the coffee invaded my nostrils before I even got to the door. Inside, the overhead lights were dimmed and string lights were strung along the ceiling. There were so many choices of coffees and teas to choose from that it took four chalk boards to list them all. There were tables sporadically placed throughout the cafe, each with black linen table cloths, and mini pumpkin centerpieces. I felt like I was being watched from the moment I stepped foot into the place, but I chose to ignore it. I ordered my usual and sat down at a table by a window with the view of the ocean.

“Gorgeous, isn’t it?” A deep voice asked.

I turned around only to find the most handsome man I had ever laid eyes on standing before me. He had grayish blue eyes, dark, curly hair, and a smile that stretched from ear to ear. He had broad shoulders and olive skin, and I realized I had been staring far longer than I should. I cleared my throat and replied. “Yes, it is.”

He smiled sweetly and gestured to the empty seat in front of me. “Do you mind?”

“Not at all.” I smiled back.

We sat there for hours just talking, and I learned his name is Neil, and that he’s an architect. The funny thing is he lives only minutes from me back in Maryland, and he is in Maine visiting family. Apparently, they have a big Halloween party every year, and the whole family comes together to carve pumpkins, and his grandmother makes lobster rolls. I told him that I work for a non-profit agency, but also loved to write and hoped to publish a novel one day. We spent the rest of the day visiting the local shops and walking along the beach. We went to a farmers market and bought fresh produce and had a picnic lunch. He walked me home and we made plans to see each other tonight.

I proceeded to talk about Neil to Melissa and I invited her and Adam out with us tonight, as we were going to a pub that Adam was interested in seeing, and Neil had expressed interest in meeting my friends.

At the bar the four of us chatted about our lives, interests, and our love of Maine. Neil kept cracking jokes and making everyone laugh, which just made me fall harder for him than I already had. I love a man with a good sense of humor. The band came onto the stage and they were amazing. Melissa and I stood up and started dancing, while Neil and Adam sat at the table nursing their beers.

“I like him.” Melissa commented as she spun me around on the dance floor.

“Me too,” I replied as I repeated the motion she had just done with me. We giggled like teenage girls, and I could literally feel any remaining pent up stress leave my body.

Neil walked up to the band and whispered something to the lead singer. He then walked over to me and grabbed my hand. The band started to play “Gravity” by John Mayer.

“I thought this was fitting.” Neil whispered into my ear as we started to dance.

“Very.” I replied with a smile.

Neil smelled of sandalwood and a spice I couldn’t quite put my finger on, but his scent was intoxicating. He spun me around and dipped me, and just when I thought he couldn’t be any more perfect, he proved me wrong with his amazing dance skills.

The four of us spent the rest of the night, chatting, dancing, and laughing harder than we had in months.

I fell asleep that night with a smile on my face and Neil in my thoughts.

Note:  I claim all content as my own personal work. Any & all rights belong solely to Kristian L. Cosner Weigman
This entry was posted in Ficton, Love, Things I love and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Short Story, Fiction #5

  1. Laura Beth says:

    Eeeeeek! I love it!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Laura Beth says:

    I love your writing. I think you can be published easily, and sell them! I’d definitely buy them!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

