These are a few of my favorite things #5

time

The song “Time” by Pink Floyd is one of my favorites, however; that is not what this post is about.

One of my Christmas gifts to Neil was the gift of time. Every month we will set aside some time at least one whole day a month where we plan something for just the two of us. We disconnect from the rest of the world. No phones, tablets, social media, etc… As most of you know I am an old soul, as well as a hopeless romantic. In an age where everything is digital, no one writes letters and when friends get together for dinner parties, their phones are still withing arms reach. I long for connection, written letters, and deep conversations. I am as guilty as everyone else, I am constantly on my phone or tablet, reading blogs, catching up on Facebook, or writing my novel.

Neil and I are going to take turns every month planning a date night. January was his month. I took a day off work, we ran errands together (we are such adults), we had lunch out at the Greene Turtle, and then we went home and just hung out.

For February I am doing a date night in. Neil and I have never been huge on Valentines Day. We recognize the day and we might get dessert or cook a special meal, but that’s about it. So our date night will be the weekend after Valentines Day. I am going to cook a new recipe (I haven’t decided what yet), make some snacks, and watch Dr. Strange. We will spend the day playing games, asking each other random questions, and just vegging out until dinner time. It’s nice to just take some time for the everyday, mundane, and stress of life to force ourselves to relax.

What do you do to relax and unwind?

Love & life lessons,

Kristian

This entry was posted in Love, Marraige, Passions, Things I love and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to These are a few of my favorite things #5

  1. Laura Beth says:

    I love, love, love this idea! Doctor Strange is a great movie – Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

