Peace, Love, &…..Politics?

I can’t tell you the number of times I have sat down and started to write about my political views, because..well, quite frankly; I am fed up!  I can’t tell you the number of people who have told me they have lost friends over this years political debate. All I can do is shake my head. Can’t we just agree to disagree? If I decided to stop being friends with people who didn’t share the exact same political views that I do, well I wouldn’t have any friends. Seriously people, when your heart is hurting & you need to reach out to someone are you going to be able to call Donald Trump or Hilary Clinton? No, they have far more important things to deal with than your broken heart…it’s a shame you let your friends go, isn’t it?

Every time I try to write about politics it leads me to the topic of abortion, and then my anger gets the better of me and I go off on this big tangent, and you know what? I don’t want that on my blog. My blog is about love, peace, encouragement…things that I have found don’t mix with the topics of politics or religion. To quote Linus VanPelt:

linus

As many of you know I do believe in God, I have talked about Him often, and I will continue to do so. No, I don’t have actual facts to prove He is real, just like you don’t have actual facts to prove that He isn’t. I have experienced far too many things in my lifetime to not believe in a higher power, and that’s why it is called faith. However, religion is an entirely different subject, and I tend to be more open minded than some of my fellow Christians, so it’s best for me to just keep my mouth shut. I’m sorry but if you don’t know the difference between right or wrong, you lack empathy; not religion.

img_3493-300x300

So here are my final thoughts on this subject. It does not matter to me if you support Trump or Clinton (I personally don’t like either.) It does not matter to me what your beliefs are as long as you respect mine and understand that I will pray for you because I want you to be with me in Heaven one day (I don’t get why people think this is a bad thing?) As long as you are a decent human being who doesn’t intentionally hurt others, as long as you are somewhat of a goofball and feel comfortable enough to be yourself around me, and as long as I can have intelligent conversations with you, we will get along just fine! You get bonus points if you bring me coffee! 🙂

Love & Life lessons,

Kristian

 

 

This entry was posted in Faith, Love and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Peace, Love, &…..Politics?

  1. maureenrose7 says:

    all very well put!! XO!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Josh Wrenn says:

    If all the religious had your take on religion, the world would be a much better place.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this post, Kristian! It’s fantastic! I also agree with you about God by the way – there are way too many amazing things in the world for me not to believe!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Reblogged this on Getting Through Anxiety and commented:
    Kristian writes an amazing post on politics and religion and how friendship is more important!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. A wonderful post…..and so very true xx Hope you enjoy our Word Hug #15 tonight xx https://goo.gl/RkLJ83
    Love Up and Down the Rabbit Hole xx
    For the Ups and Downs of Life x

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I just wanted to say thank you for this post. This is something a lot of people need to hear, regardless of their political stance. Losing friends over politics is just not worth it! Instead, we need to stay strong together through it, always – no matter what happens and who wins.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

