Good Friends and a Glass of Wine

Today I want to talk about my very beautiful, best friend, Amanda. Amanda & I have a very understanding friendship. I get that she is a very busy woman, mother, and new home owner! Yay! She understands that I am busy with work and remodeling our house, and numerous trips to Baltimore, but when we get together it’s as if no time has passed at all. I deeply cherish all of my friendships, and all of my friends know pretty much everything there is to know about me, but Amanda understands me on a different level. Conversations with Amanda are one of my favorite things in the world, because no matter what the topic, I always walk a way with a smile on my face & warmth in my heart, and I always feel an over abundance of love. She and I have this connection, she and I are not afraid to speak our minds, she tells me when I’m over thinking things, and I remind her of the “rag fight” when she needs to just step back and look at a situation. Amanda, I knew that would make you laugh. 🙂 I had sort of hit a wall with my novel, and wasn’t sure where to go from the point I am in the book, so I walked away from it for a while, but it’s always in the back of my mind. Recently, I’ve been forming ideas and having more vivid dreams again, and I always discuss these things with Amanda because, well….she gets me! Amanda is the one who inspired me to start writing my novel, and I’m not even sure if she knows that. Anyway, I had this wonderful dream a while back that I was marrying Dean Winchester! My dream wasn’t really about Dean though, in fact he wasn’t even in my dream. In this dream Amanda’s family was hosting a party for me, my dress was hanging on a mannequin as a display, Amanda’s aunt Brenda was making fruit salad, her mom was going on about how handsome Dean is, Amanda’s grandma was playing twister with the triplets, and Amanda and I were laughing. I grabbed a margarita and held onto Amanda’s arm as we walked out onto the front porch of this beautiful log cabin, that had the most amazing views of the mountains. The house was facing West because we watched the sunset as we sipped our margarita’s and talked. I asked Amanda if I was making the right choice, because Dean is well known to be a womanizer, is not a man of commitment, and his life style is dangerous. Amanda looked at me and assured me that Dean & I were making the best possible decision we could make. She told me about how she watched Dean with me, the way his eyes would widen when I entered a room, or the way he would always place his hand on the small of my back when we were walking side by side, and most importantly the way his eyes would fill with so much love when he watched me laugh. I woke up with that same warmth I always feel after a long chat with Amanda. The dream felt so real, because I have no doubt that’s exactly how the conversation would have gone in real life. It was similar to conversations we have had, and it felt like home. I immediately wanted to find a log cabin with a stunning view and take her for a girls getaway, just so that we could sit on that porch and do nothing but talk! You know you’re truly friends with someone when just their presence is enough. I could go grocery shopping with Amanda, & it would turn into some sort of adventure, and you can bet that I would walk away with a smile, which never happens when I go grocery shopping! So thank you Amanda, for your friendship, your support, and I can’t wait until our next “wine chat.” I love you!

This entry was posted in Friendship, Gratitude, Things I love and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

