52 Weeks of Gratitude

Week 27: Favorite spot in my city

The only city in the very rural area I live in is Oakland, MD. MY favorite spot is right in the heart of downtown Oakland.

MDGA_OaklandFootbridgeLYoughR

This gorgeous footbridge that goes over the Youghiogheny River and leads to some amazing hiking trails and historical landmarks.

I love anything old fashioned, retro, vintage, classic… there’s this charm to downtown Oakland, and if it wasn’t for the vehicles, it would look like something from the 40’s or 50’s. They restored a lot of the old buildings, but kept the “old charm” look. Not far from the bridge is an antique store called Englanders. In the back of Englanders is an old fashioned Diner called Dottie’s Bar & Grill. Now, “bar” does not mean alcohol, it actually means a bar that you sit at and watch the cooks grill and prepare your food. There are also tables if you don’t want to sit at the bar. Dottie’s has amazing breakfasts, great sandwiches, and old fashioned milk shakes!

Englanders

Walk a little further up Main Street to the old B&O Railroad Station and Museum. Once again very old looking and charming. If you ever get a chance to stop by let me know, and I’ll make sure you see all of the beautiful sights, shops, and restaurants our small town has to offer!!

2f03b5e1bc4054611c665ffc3c6d8090

None of these pictures are mine, I got them all off google, but I plan to take lots of pictures in the near future, and I will be sharing them all with you!!

What’s your favorite spot in your city?

Love & life lessons,

K

This entry was posted in 2016, challenge, Things I love and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 52 Weeks of Gratitude

  1. I love this idea! My favorite spot isn’t technically in the town I live in but rather 15 minutes away by Spring Lake beach (in NJ). This year my fiancé and I have really been taking advantage of going to the beach in the evenings. We’re both pretty stressed out now but going there always helps us to refocus & relax. We love to collect sea glass, watch the waves roll in & sometimes get ice cream after 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • kristianw84 says:

      Oh, that sounds lovely!! I wish I lived closer to the ocean or bay. I’m about 3 or 4 hours away from the closest salt water beach. It’s so relaxing. I could watch, listen, and smell the waves all day long!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Laura Beth says:

    This is so charming! I haven’t explored much of Maryland, at all. I’m thinking a road trip!

    Liked by 1 person

    • kristianw84 says:

      Oh you should! Maryland has a lot of beautiful attractions. Neil and I are looking going to Smith Island. If you ever do come out my way, let me know. I’d love to meet up for lunch or something!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Laura Beth says:

    That would be awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

