52 Weeks of Gratitude

Week 17: Something you take for granted

So last week I spoke about the little things in life that most of us take for granted on a daily basis. This week I’m going to speak about a big thing, that I take for granted, and once again I’m sure most of us do:

My Life!!

I woke up this morning next to my amazing husband, and while he has his share of health problems, that I wish I could take away from him, he is still here alive, breathing, able to walk, he’s intelligent, and mostly able bodied. I woke up in a bed that is in my own house. I drove my vehicle to a job that I enjoy. When I got to work I made myself coffee. I turned on my tart warmer so that my office smells nice. I am typing this on my computer; I will upload it using the internet. I had lunch with my dad today. I put on clothes that I own, and that I was able to buy with my own money. Do you see where I’m going with this? I live in a country where I have the freedom to work where I want, live in the house I choose, wear the clothes I want, I have hot water to take a shower. Sure, my life gets very stressful, and I struggle with issues, but some people don’t even have the luxury of hot water. While some of us may have to wonder how we’re going to pay our next water bill, there are people out there who would kill to be able to have a hot water bill, because that means they can take a shower with hot water, and use a toilet, and do their laundry.

I am alive, I am healthy, I not only have a career so that I can pay my bills, but one that I enjoy! I have clothes on my back, a roof over my head, a vehicle. I am loved beyond measure by the greatest friends I could ask for, and a family who would do anything for me. I have food on the table, and I’m able to buy my own groceries. Not everyone can say that. Yet, these are things I don’t even think about on a regular basis. I wake up and everything is there for me. It’s what I’m used to, but the fact is that these are luxuries, and instead of taking them for granted as often as I do, I need to be thankful!! I am thankful!! Just look at how blessed I am!

What do you take for granted, what are some things that you need to stop and say thanks for?

Love and life lessons,

K

There-is-always-something-to-be-thankful-for

This entry was posted in 2016, Awareness, challenge, Gratitude, Health and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

