Baseball

Doing the gratitude challenge has helped me to appreciate more in life. I try not to take things for granted, and be grateful for everything, but it’s only natural to take things (especially the little things) in life for granted. Since I have been talking about passions in this challenge, I thought I would share some of mine with you. I am a very passionate person, so I have lots to share!

The first thing I want to talk about is a fairly new found passion of mine….Baseball!

I have always enjoyed the sport, but it wasn’t until I met my husband that I fell in love with it. I am an Orioles fan, however; I tell people that I have two favorite teams: The Orioles and anyone who beats the Yankees! I enjoy watching the game, I’ll watch any team, but my heart is with the Orioles.

Although watching baseball on TV is fun and relaxing, there is nothing like being at a game! The sights, the smells, the sounds, I love ALL of it!  As soon as you walk into the stadium your senses are overwhelmed. The smell of food, beer, freshly cut grass, and dirt will tickle your nostrils. The sounds of people cheering, music, and laughter will fill your ears. It is a baseball game and at Camden Yards you will enjoy none other than an Esskay hot dog, and I don’t know if it’s the atmosphere or the excitement, but that will be the best hot dog you have ever consumed. I also recommend a pit beef sandwich from Boog’s Barbecue! The announcer will finally call the players onto the field, and you will find yourself instinctively cheering as your favorite players run out onto the field. When they play the national anthem everyone will remain silent, until whoever is singing reaches the line “Oh say does that Star Spangled Banner yet wave.” In which the crowd will yell “O” as loud as they can! When the game starts you stare intently at whoever is at bat, you wait and then you hear it. The crack of the bat as it meets the ball, and you instinctively rise out of your seat, and your whole body moves with the direction of the ball. It’s a high fly ball, over the fence, and you immediately start jumping and cheering because you know it’s a home run! You avert your eyes back to the player as you watch him slide into the home plate and run off the field to be congratulated by his teammates! This is one of the best feelings in the entire world! You sit back in your chair and you smile as you see a father proudly looking at his son who cannot contain his excitement, or the couple who has gotten caught on the kiss cam. You find yourself clapping along and chanting “Let’s go O’s!” It is now the bottom of the 7th inning, and you tap your feet along as John Denver’s “Country Boy” flows through the speakers, a tradition adopted by the Orioles in 1975. As the game is ending you find yourself enjoying the feel of the sun on your skin, the smiles on the faces of the people around you, the strangers who have all gathered at one place to enjoy a shared interest, the glorious game that is baseball. I hate using the term game; it’s so much more than that! It is everything I just described to you. It’s beautiful!

So the next time you find yourself in Baltimore, Maryland during baseball season, why not enjoy America’s most charming sport in Charm City? There’s not a bad seat at Camden Yards, and you even if you are not a baseball fan, I promise you, you will love every second of this experience!

This entry was posted in Baseball, Maryland, Orioles and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baseball

  1. Great stuff dear! You summed it up really well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

