52 Weeks of Gratitude

Week 5: Something someone gave you

I am grateful for the very first Christmas ornament I ever received. I was born on November 12th, so I was almost 2 months old when I got this ornament. It was from my Aunt Nancy, and while she was probably just buying her favorite niece her first Christmas ornament, she started a tradition. Every year for as long as I can remember my family has bought each other an ornament, usually taping it to the outside of a package. I have continued this tradition with friends as well as family, and one day when I have a child of my own I will pass this tradition on to them. I’m grateful for this because it’s not only something I look forward to, but when I decorate my Christmas tree every year, I can smile knowing the meaning behind almost each and every ornament. I have ornaments from every single one of my family members that hold a special meaning. My grandma wrote my name and my birth year on a red bulb and she hung it on her Christmas tree. I now have that ornament on my tree, and I cry every year when I hang it up. Sadly, I don’t remember a lot about my grandma, but when I look back to pictures or things that she gave me when I was a child, it is quite obvious that I was the apple of her eye, and I still remember all the love my heart held for her. She was without a debt one of the best people I have ever had the privilege of knowing, and I was beyond blessed to have her as my grandmother! The ornament from my aunt remains my favorite ornament to this day! Thank you Aunt Nancy for giving me a reminder of your love that I can hang on my tree every year, and for starting something that I hold very close to my heart!

ornament

This entry was posted in 2016, Family, Gratitude and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

