52 Weeks to Gratitude Week 4

Here’s week 4 of the gratitude challenge. I hope you guys enjoy reading them as much as I enjoy doing them!

Love & life lessons,

K

Week 4: A family Member

As I mentioned last week, I am grateful for my entire family! Every last one of them, but this week I am going to tell you how grateful I am for my brother, Jason.

Jason is 11 years older than I am, so he had a hand in making me the person I am today. He would allow me to do the things he wasn’t allowed to do like jump on the bed, or stand on the couch, but he would alert me when mom or dad was coming so that I wouldn’t get in trouble. My brother named me, he was the first person I held my arms out too, and he was the first person I always sought when I needed advice. He still is! He’s not just my brother, he’s my best friend! We have this connection, I can’t explain it, but I know if something’s wrong, even though he’s clear across the country. He’s the same with me, when I let him know that mom wasn’t doing well, he didn’t know just how bad she was, but he could tell something wasn’t right, and he said he was waiting for my phone call. We have done that on numerous occasions, even getting sick at the same time…weird, I know!

I have always looked up to my big brother, he taught me how to fight, how to stand up for myself, to be proud of who I am or as he puts it. “There’s only one you. You’re unique, just like everybody else.”

We used to watch horror movies together. He would sneak around the corner to make me scream. I think this is why horror movies don’t bother me. I might get startled when a movie is really interesting and pulls me in, but after it’s over it has no effect on me whatsoever.

My brother gave me a loving nephew who means the world to me, and two gorgeous nieces who stole my heart the first time I ever laid eyes on them. I can’t even begin to tell you how much love my heart holds for them, all of them!

So Jay, if you’re reading this Thank you for being the best big brother ever, for giving me guidance, for showing me the strength that I don’t always see in myself, and for making me proud to be your baby sister! I love you more than anything!

This entry was posted in Family, Goals, Gratitude and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 52 Weeks to Gratitude Week 4

Leave a Reply

