Dear Mom

One of the ways I cope and deal with stress is to write. I have found that writing about my mom helps bring back happy memories of her. It helps me heal. So I have decided to start a segment called “Dear Mom”. I don’t have any specific time frame of when I will post these, just whenever the mood hits me. When things happen & I feel that I really need to talk to her. I thought about just keeping them in a journal for myself, but I got to thinking about others who may be going through a similar situation. Maybe reading these posts will help them heal, or even inspire them to write to their loved one. If you are going through a difficult time and need someone to talk to, please feel free to reach out to me! I am a great listener! I hope you enjoy these segments! Here’s my first “Dear Mom”:

Dear mom,

There is so much I want to tell you! I can’t believe it’s been over a month since you went to heaven.

They closed Get N Go. No more of their awesome chicken salad. I think about how we used to get that for lunch and watch Days of Our Lives, then we’d have cheesecake and that chocolate covered cherry coffee from School House Earth. I miss those days! I miss you! Not a day goes by that I don’t think of you. I know you’re in a much better place, and no longer suffering!

I’ve been keeping an eye on dad, like I promised. He’s doing okay, but he misses you greatly! He stayed with Aunt Nancy & Uncle Dick while Neil & I went to Baltimore. I think it did him some good to get away for a while. He has re decorated the house. You would hate some of the pictures he has hanging on the wall, but they’re his favorites of you! I am trying to figure out what to get him for his birthday. As you know, he is so hard to buy for!

I’m having some health issues, but nothing serious. I know you’re watching over me, and I’ll be okay. Work is going well, we’re very busy because it’s tax season.  I’m thinking about applying for Deb’s job when she retires.

There has been so much I have wanted to share with you, and what I really want & miss the most…is your hugs! If I close my eyes real tight I can feel you comforting me, sometimes I even feel a bit of cold air, and I tell myself that it’s a hug from my mommy!

Please give Grandma my love and tell her I miss her too, and tell Grandpa Grab the same, and that the Steelers will do better next year!

Love and miss you terribly!

 

Your baby girl

This entry was posted in Family, Health, Loss and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dear Mom

  1. Amanda says:

    Awe this made me cry. I read the letter she wrote me today for my wedding, amazing women!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

