Santa’s for soldiers

A little while ago a friend that I work with showed me a very powerful video that I am going to share with you. It opened my eyes to how poorly some of our Service men and women are treated. This year for Christmas I will be participating in Holiday Mail for Heroes. I am going to send Christmas cards to our military members, thanking them for their service, and letting them know that my thoughts are with them throughout the year, and sending them some Christmas cheer.

In addition to this, I am going to be sending Christmas care packages to our local Veterans. After watching the video I will be sharing at the end of this post, my heart broke. I want to send my love and support to our service men and women that are home, who have maybe been forgotten, or can’t get the medical help they need because they don’t make enough money, and the military won’t pay because they weren’t injured in the war. I personally think that is awful, because whether they fought in a war or not, they were still serving our country! Anyway, I want to spread Christmas cheer to our veterans who are at home and are not able to get out and do a lot of the activities that we take for granted, because they are disabled, or suffering from PTSD, or both. Our veterans who are in nursing homes who may not have family or friends to come and visit them, and even if they do, my mission is to let our vets know that there are people out there who still consider them heroes, who think about them, and appreciate that they fought for our freedom. I have started an Organization called Santa’s for Soldiers. Right now it is very small, we only have 3 members.  My goal is to eventually be able to help Veterans as well as active military all over the world!

 If you would like to participate in the Holiday mail for Heroes, you may do so by mailing your Christmas cards to the following address:

Holiday mail for Heroes

P.O. Box 5456

Capitol Heights, MD 20791-5456

 If you are interested in donating items to Santa’s for Soldiers, or becoming a Santa you can email me at:

kweigman@garrettcac.org

We are sending care packages to two Veterans at home, and one overseas. It’s late in the year, so we feel 3 heroes is a good number to start with. Next year, we want to start early & branch out. If you know of someone who would enjoy a care package, please let me know. I will add him or her to the list!

Here are a list of items that would be excellent donations for the care packages:

Magazines

Cookies & other baked goods

Candies & snacks

Movies, comedies are good, please no movies or documentaries about wars

Gift cards

Scarves, gloves, hats

blankets

You may also send a monetary donation, and I will use it to purchase items for the care package, or use to buy a gift card for a veteran.

If you know of a hero, you may also tell me some things about him or her. Such as, their favorite color, snack, football team, etc… I will make those care packages more personal for your hero!  Thank you for your support!

If you are a veteran of the United States military, past or present, Thank you! I am eternally grateful for your service, you are a hero!

Here is a link to the video; I hope it touches you as much as it did me!

This entry was posted in Awareness, Santa's for Soldiers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

